CENTER FOR CARBON RESEARCH IN TROPICAL AGRICULTURE (CCARBON)

Executive Committee

Director: Carlos Eduardo Pellegrino Cerri Vice-director: Maurício Roberto Cherubin Innovation Coordinator: Durval Dourado Neto

Dissemination Coordinator: Luís Reynaldo Ferracciú Alleoni

Principal Investigators:

Name	Main Research Topic	
Carlos Alberto Labate	Genetics, molecular breeding	
Carlos Eduardo Pellegrino Cerri	Greenhouse gas emissions and soil carbon sequestration	
Durval Dourado Neto	Crop modelling and simulation, water management	
Elias Salomão Helou Neto	Applied mathematics, inverse problems and optimization	
Fernando Dini Andreote	Molecular microbiology and microbial ecology	
Fernando Luis Cônsoli	Insect molecular physiology, insect interactions, biotechnology	
Flavio Augusto Portela Santos	Animal Science, animal nutrition	
Helaine Carrer	Biotechnology, plant molecular biology, biochemistry	
Joaquim B. de S. Ferreira Filho	Agricultural economics, agricultural policies	
José Alexandre Melo Demattê	GIS, remote sensing, geotechnologies, soil attibutes maps	
Luís Reynaldo Ferracciú Alleoni	Soil chemistry and fertility	
Luiz Carlos Estraviz Rodrigues	Forestry economy, quantification of forest biomass	
Maurício Roberto Cherubin	Soil health, agricultural management practices	
Ricardo Ribeiro Rodrigues	Forest restoration, landscape restoration, Carbon in restoration	
Thais Maria de Souza Vieira	Food products and process development, Sustainable processing	

International Advisory Board

The board will be formed by internationally recognized researchers, two of them were members of the IPCC team that was awarded the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize. All of them already accepted our invitation to serve as members of the board.

Name	Institution
Rattan Lal	The Ohio State University, USA
Pete Smith	University of Aberdeen, UK
Martial Bernoux	FAO, Rome
Mercedes Bustamante	University of Brasilia, Brazil
Fusuo Zhang	China Agricultural University, China

Administrative staff

Executive Managers: Fabiana Hamada, Roberta Bacha, Lucas Meneghini Innovation Managers: Luciana Joia de Lima, Evelini Sarto, Claudinei Rodrigues

Dissemination Managers: Alicia Nascimento Aguiar, Caio Albuquerque, Vanda Zambello

Associate Investigators:

-		
Name	Main Research Topic	Institution
Alan Franzluebbers	Strategies to Support Resilient Agrosystems	ARS/USDA
Antonio Augusto F. Garcia	Molecular Breeding	USP/ESALQ
Carlos A. Costa Crusciol	Agricultural production systems	UNESP/Botucatu
Carlos Augusto Colombo	Plant genetics and molecular biology	IAC
Carlos G. Silveira Pedreira	Pasture management, livestock production	USP/ESALQ
Catarina Barbosa Careta	Information Technology and Innovation	USP/ESALQ
Celso Omoto	Insecticide Resistance Management	USP/ESALQ
Fabio Marin	Crop modeling, agrometeorology	USP/ESALQ
Gerd Sparovek	Land Use Planning and Conservation, GIS	USP/ESALQ
Heitor Cantarella	Greenhouse gas emissions and C cycling	IAC
Holger Meinke	Global Food Sustainability	UniversityTasmania
Ítalo Delalibera Jr.	Pest control with the use of microorganisms	USP/ESALQ
Jean Pierre Henry B. Ometto	Biogeochemical cycling and remote sensing	INPE
João Roberto Spotti Lopes	pathogen-plant-vector interactions	USP/ESALQ
José Baldin Pinheiro	Genetics, plant breeding, stress resistance	USP/ESALQ
Klaas Metselaar	Soil physics and land management	WUR/ Wageningen
Luís E. Aranha Camargo	Genetics of plant-pathogen interactions	USP/ESALQ
Miguel Cooper	Soil and water conservation	USP/ESALQ
Pablo Gregorini	Foraging ecology, livestock production	Lincoln University
Paulo César Sentelhas	Agroclimatology, agrometeorology	USP/ESALQ
Paulo Mazzafera	Plant physiology and interactions	UNICAMP
Pedro Henrique S. Brancalion	Large scale restoration and Monitoring	USP/ESALQ
Severino Matias de Alencar	Food Science, biochemistry	USP/ESALQ
Sila Carneiro da Silva	Pastoral science, grassland ecophysiology	USP/ESALQ
Silvia Regina Galetti	Plant protection against microrganisms	Instituto Biológico
Suzana C. da Silva Lannes	Food products, functional characteristics	USP/FCFarmacêutica
Thiago Libório Romanelli	Material/energy flows in agrosystems	USP/ESALQ
Tiago Osório Ferreira	Geochemistry, pedology, Carbon cycling	USP/ESALQ

Physical space and infrastructure:

CCARBON will be settled in an area of about 425 m² located at the central region of the "Luiz de Queiroz" Campus in Piracicaba, São Paulo. Composed by two dozen of rooms, with already existing infrastructure, it will allow not only the permanent interaction among its researchers but also adequate functioning of research, innovation and dissemination activities. More than 30 laboratories, headed by investigators listed above, will serve as the central core for developing projects under the CCARBON proposal.